Rearranging the website (and what happens when things go pear-shaped!!)

I woke up this morning and thought it would be a great day to do some serious work on my website – rearranging, rewriting, updating! I tend to put this kind of work to one side, but really, I should treat myself as I do my clients, and focus on their projects until they’re done!

Part of the exercise was deciding what to do with my portfolio. Always a challenge for a designer, and for me it’s been a bit of a problem child! There’s just too much of it, and I needed to reduce it down and not write so much!! I think I’ve redone the whole thing 3 or 4 times since I started the website design business late last year!

Jellyfish

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I thought it would be a good idea kick start this blog again (it’s been languishing for a while) and to include the portfolio here. I thought it would only take a couple of hours. That was at about 10 this morning!! The technicalities of it were quite straight forward – export everything from one site and import it into another. Simple, right?! Well, it was kind of but images went pear shaped, posts were doubled up, things were flagged as pending when they weren’t, and on and on! I’ve had to revisit pretty much every post and of course, some of them were sent out again as new posts. I do not know why this should’ve happened, but it did!!

After much wrangling, I think I have things mostly organised  … and am looking forward to blogging again. The focus may shift slightly to more about website design and function, but I still love interior design, and garden design, and industrial design … so there’ll still be mix of that too.

I’m looking forward to hearing from you as I write!

Leave a Reply

